The museum was established in 1988 by the well-known Georgian archaeologist, head of the Tbilisi archaeological expedition, Rostom Abramishvili (1924-1996). The museum houses monuments, discovered by the archaeological excavations in Tbilisi. The chronological frames of the collections are from the V c. B.C. up to the feudal times. In the museum is kept the earliest in the world samples of tinned bronze objects from the Delisi (Tbilisi district) dwelling, dated as 4.000 years old; bronze buckle inlayed with silver decorated with horse rider image; inventory of the Treli royal burials (XII-VIII-VII c.c. B.C.).
Museum of Fine Arts
S. Amiranashvili Museum of Fine Arts was established in Tbilisi in 1920 as the National Arts Gallery of Georgia. The Museum houses the best-known samples of Georgian artwork. Different collections of the Museum preserve approximately sixty thousand objects. The Museum is distinguished for its Georgian goldsmith pieces dated back to the VIII-XIX Centuries. The most significant exhibits are the icon of Zarzma Monastery, the Chalice of Bedia, Anchistkhati and Khakhuli Triptychs, Processional Liturgical Crosses etc. Also unique are the exhibits of cut-enamel, jewelry and art textiles from VIII-XV cc. The Museum stores the works of famous Georgian painters Niko Pirosmanishvili, Lado Gudiashvili, Elene Akvlediani, David Kakabadze and others. The Museum also hosts collections of Russian, Western Europe and Oriental (mainly Persian) artworks.
Open Air Museum of Ethnography
The Open Air Museum was founded in 1966 by George Chitaia, a famous Georgian ethnographer and academician, whose name it now bears. The museum is one of the most unique museums in Georgia: you can physically "visit" almost all the regions of Georgia in several hours and learn about the architecture and traditions of different regions. The Open Air Museum is located in Tbilisi, Vake district, to the west of "Turtle Lake". It occupies 65 hectares of land. The Museum features objects of traditional art and architecture from different parts of Georgia.
Janashia State Museum
Museum operates as a scientific-educational institution that preserves and exhibits a unique collection of natural and human history.The collections of the S. Janashia Museum cover the history of the country, starting from animal remains dated back to 40 million years. One of the most amazing spicemen at the museum is the prehistoric human remains found in Dmanisi. These remains date back to 1.8 million years and are the oldest sign of human existence outside of Africa. This discovery has changed the whole theory of human evolution. One of the most important collections of the Georgian National Museum is the Collection of Treasures that contains a big number of unique objects from different historical periods (from the second half of the III millenium BC through XIX century AD). The collection features gold and silver artifacts and jewelry from the pre-Christian period from Kakheti (East Georgia), Vani (West Georgia), Mtskheta, Trialeti Kurgans, Zhinvali, Akhalgori, Martkopi, etc. These objects were discovered during archeological excavations from the beginning of the 20th century to the summer of 2004 and/or collected by historians
Tbilisi Museum of History
I. Grishahvili Museum of Tbilisi History was founded in 1910 as a City Museum. In 1943 it was renamed to the Tbilisi State Historic-Ethnographical Museum. Currently the museum is named after Georgian poet Ioseb Grishashvili. The Museum collection contains unique objects weapons and household accessories starting from the Bronze Age. The Museum has the collection of Lado Gugudiashvili, Mose Toidze, Elene Akhvlediani paintings as well as masterpieces of other renowned Georgian Painters. The Museum carries out scientific research into the old history of Tbilisi, and organizes expeditions in vicinities of the capital city.
Mirza Phatali Akhundov Museum of Georgian-Azerbaijan Culture
The museum houses memorial belongings of several public figures of Azerbaijani origin: Mirza Phatali Akhundov (public person, writer and playwright), Nariman Narimanov (public person, physician), Mamed Kuli Zade (public person, writer, editor of the newspaper "Molla Nasreddin" in 20-ies of XX c.); also there are stored plays by Mirza Phatali Akhundov, sketches for the newspaper by Mamed Kuli Zade, works of Nariman Narimanov, as well as photo documents reflected cultural relationship of Georgia and Azerbaijan, books, documents, editions of scientific works and belles-lettres in Azerbaijani language, etc. The museum stores 1.000 items.
National Centre of Manuscripts
The Institute was established on the basis of the State Museum of Georgia. In the funds of the Institute are stored more than 170.000 items in Georgian, Greek, Hebrew, Sirian, Ethiopian, Armenian, Arabic, Persian, Turkish, Slavic languages (dated from I c. up to XX c.). One of the most important aims of the Institute of Manuscripts is organization of the on contemporary level and assistance to international collaboration in the field. The _parent directions of the scientific research and international relations are: description, systematization, studying and publishing of manuscripts, historical documents and personal archives of local and foreign (mostly Aphon, Sinai Mountain and Jerusalem) origin; organization of manuscripts care, diagnostics and conservation-restoration according the international standards.
Mose Toidze State Museum
The museum was established in 1968 in the home-studio of well-known Georgian painter, Mose Toidze (1871-1953). The museum houses paintings and graphics of the artist, photo and documentary materials (more than 2.000 items), as well as works of his son – painter Irakli Toidze. The museum has the Cultural-Educational Psycho-Rehabilitation Training Centre, are held charitable projects
Georgian Museum of Literature
The museum houses unique samples of old and contemporay Georgian literature, as well as items representing cultural heritage of foreign countries: manuscripts (XII c. Four Gospels, XVII-XIX c.c. philosophical-religious works); archives, manuscripts and memorial belongings (furniture, family relics, clothes) of well-known Georgian and foreign writers Nikoloz Baratashvili, Vazha-Pshavela, Ilia Chavchavadze, Akaki Tsereteli, Galaktion Tabidze, Arthur Laist, Marjorie Wodrope, Konstantin Balmont, Boris Pasternak, etc.; paintings and graphics of Georgian and foreign artists (G.Gabashvili, E.Akhvlediani, L.Gudiashvili, Al.Molinari, K.Magalashvii, M.Toidze, D.Kakabadze, T.Burov, Gr.Koradin, etc.); photographs and documents, bibliographical rarities, rare audio-video records. The museum fund: 140 000 items. Branches: Titsian Tabidze House Museum, Nodar Dumbadze House Museum.
State Museum of National Instruments
The museum houses collections of Georgian and South Caucasian people authentic musical instruments, as well as European mechanical and classical musical instruments, collection of arghans (among them items, made by well-known Czech craftsman Nechada). In the museum are kept manuscript notes of Georgian folk music, audio-video records, phono-photo materials. There are also replica of a XV-XIV c.c. B.C. swan bone flute, samples of fine and applied art, gramophone records (beginning of the XX c.) of Georgian folk songs and so called Oriental songs. The museum stores paintings of L.Gudiashvili, I.Sharlemann, J.Khutsishvili, and collection of XVIII-XIX c.c. Oriental carpets and Georgian rugs. At the moment, in the have started process of reorganization, which will end in spring, 2007.
The museum was established in 1887 by Nikolai Shavrov, great enthusiast and silk spesialist, and the building for it was built in 1892. Along with the museum collections, was established a library (the oldest book is published in 1601). The museum houses all kinds of collections of specimens connected with the silk production: collection of mulberry and its products; collections of silkworms, butterflies, cocoons (5.000 breeds and variations); collection of natural and synthetic dyes with samples; collections of models for domestic and industrial silk production; collections of silk products – threads, fabrics, laces, etc.; photo archive; especially interesting is that the museum collections represent all countries with traditions of silk production. Most of the collections of the museum are were collected by N.Shavrov and donated by European, Russian and Caucasian colleagues. The museum and its library furniture themselves are good sample of 19th c. museum of natural history.
Museum of Sport
The museum was established in 1965, it houses collections of medals, cups, prizes, photographs of Georgian Olympic, World and Europe champions. Also, there are numerous and various collections: audio-video records of sportsmen voices, photo negatives, films about sport and sportsmen, personal archives of well-known sportsmen, etc.
Cinema History Museum
The museum houses mostly materials, connected with the history of cinema: photo archives, cinematographic equipment, books, brochures, periodicals, posters, puppets, archives of well-known cinematographers, as well as video collections of Georgian films, and Charlie Chaplin an Woult Disney films, collection of animated films' stamps (of Georgian as well as Disney films).
The museum is situated in the Georgian National Bank building. The museum houses materials describing the history of money from VI c. up to XX c.: Colchian tetri, Alexander the Great stater, antique coins, Sasanian drahmas, Arab dirhems, coins of Georgian kings and Queens Demetre I, Giorgi III, Tamar, Lasha-Giorgi, Rusudan, as well as Venetian ducat, Turkish altun, Iranian abazi, Austrian and Polish tallers, contemporary money of various countries; also there are special literature and multimedia publication of money (on CD).
IOSEB GRISHASHVILI TBILISI HISTORY MUSEUM (CARVASLA)
Grishashvili Museum of Tbilisi History was founded in 1910 as a City Museum. In 1943 it was renamed to the Tbilisi State Historic-Ethnographical Museum. Currently the museum is named after Georgian poet Ioseb Grishashvili. The museum houses collections that represent Tbilisi history, everyday life and culture (50.000 items). There are collections of archaeology, ethnography, documents, folk and applied art. The museum collection contains unique objects, weapons, various kind of ceramic, china, musical instruments, numismatics, textiles and household accessories starting from the Bronze Age. The museum has the collection of Lado Gudiashvili, Mose Toidze, Elene Akhvlediani paintings as well as masterpieces of other renowned Georgian artists.
Ivane Javakhishvili Samtskhe-Javakheti History Museum
Ivane Javakhishvili Samtskhe-Javakheti History Museum was established in 1923 as an archive-museum. In 1937, it was transformed into a Local Museum, combining its archive collection with a wider range of collections representing the history and culture of the region. In 1972 Museum moved to two buildings at the Rabati territory in Akhaltsikhe and it was named after Ivane Javakhishvili. Today, the Museum houses the significant part of the region's cultural heritage. Totally it preserves over 25,000 objects. They include manuscripts and old printed books (parchments dating to the XI, XII, XV, and XVII cc.), photos, archaeological, numismatic, and ethnographic collections, etc. The Museum's textile collection (rugs and carpets of the verge of XIX-XX cc.) as well as collection of ancient inscriptions cut on stone are of high importance. Since December 2004 Ivane Javakhishvili Samtskhe-Javakheti History Museum is a part of the Georgian National Museum. Apart from two main buildings that display permanent exhibitions - the Castle that surrounds it, Administrative building, Mosque built in 1752, Ruins of a medresa (Islamic school) - belong to the Museum. Total size of the Museums open air territory is 27.500 square meter. From this territory 3.978 square meters is occupied by buildings, 23.522 square meters is a yard inside the citadel
Otar Lordkipanidze Archeology Museum-Reserve
Vani archeological Museum was founded in 1985 by Academician Otar Lordkipanidze during the international symposium. The Museum is situated close to the archeological site Vani that is famous for its marvelous discoveries of VII-IV Centuries BC. The Gold Fund was opened at the Museum in 1987, after the discovery of the rich burial. One of most successful discoveries took place in 2003 –2004, when over 1000 golden objects were unearthed. Some of these objects formed a new exhibition at the S. Janashia Museum of Georgia, named "Colchis, Land of Golden Fleece".
Dmanisi History & Architecture Museum-Reserve
Village Patara Dmanisi, situates 85 km far from Tbilisi, in South-East Georgia. Surrounding of the village is the Site Dmanisi. Medieval City and church is the interest of archeological team excavating medieval layers at the site. Besides, the Medieval Part, Dmanisi is an important Pale ontological Site. International team consisting with members from over ten countries is researching here every year. The Museum-Reserve was established in 1989 with the aim of preservation of historical-architectural monuments situated in Dmanisi region. One of the most important monuments of the reserve is remains of a medieval town near village Patara Dmanisi.Collections of Dmanisi Museum-Reserve are objects discovered during excavations of the medieval town: ceramics, glasswork, metalwork, coins. There are also details of Christian architecture. Discoveries of prehistoric animals and hominids are kept at the S. Janashia Museum of Georgia.
Svaneti History-Ethnography Museum
Svaneti is one of the attractive regions of the Georgia. It locates in the North-West of the country. The Museum situates in the regional center of Svaneti Mestia.The Museum was established in 1936 as a Local Museum. In 1973 in Svaneti was created the zonal system of the Monument Protection and the Museum became the headquarters of this system. In the Museum are kept very important and valuable archaeological and ethnographical materials, rich collection of the Georgian manuscripts, icons, etc. There are high level items in the collections donated to Svaneti churches by Georgian kings. There are some items of foreign origin, like: Syrian, Sasanian Persia, from Byzantine Empire, and Venice.In 2003 the museum moved to the new building. Permanent exhibitions are presented the three halls. Collections of the Svaneti Museum are: archaeological collections – 2187 items, engraved and painted icons – 242 items, manuscripts – 68 items, armor – 192 items, metalwork – 292 items, wooden ethnographical objects – 650 items, jewelry and silverware – 421 items, textiles – 37 items. Museum already had done exhibitions of contemporary local painters' works. There is started work on preparing of the educational programs.